The 89th Annual Oscars: My Predictions

Hello, I am the Indie Princess, and it’s the most frustrating time of the year again! Yes, it’s just about time for the Oscars and I’ve decided that, as part of a long running tradition for me, I will be making my predictions as to who will win in my favourite categories. Now, before I get to my official list, here’s just a quick rundown of my predictions for some of the night’s highest honours. Save this for the yearbooks kids, because I am going to be dead wrong about most of these (as usual.)

Best Cinematography: La La Land

Best Hair and Makeup: Suicide Squad (just watch as this happens…)

Best Visual Effects: The Jungle Book (seriously, they are so good!)

Best Film Editing: Moonlight

Best Costume Design: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Best Production Design: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Best Sound Editing: Hacksaw Ridge (I didn’t see it, but I don’t want La La Land to win this so…)

Best Sound Mixing: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Best Original Score: Moonlight

Best Animated Short Film: Piper

Best Live Action Short: Timecode (?)

Best Documentary Short: The White Helmets (??)

Best Foreign Language Film: Toni Erdmann (???)

Best Documentary Feature: I Am Not Your Negro

Best Adapted Screenplay: Moonlight

Best Original Screenplay: Hell or High Water

Best Director: Barry Jenkins

*sigh* I’m going to lose my Oscar pool, I just know it. ANYWAYS, let’s get on with a quick rundown of my predictions for this years Oscars. Now, I didn’t see everything (in fact, I planned on seeing at least 4 more films that I didn’t get to on time), so I am going to only judge based on what I saw. I will also be putting in my own replacement nominees, since I do have some opinions on who should have actually gotten nominated. With that, let’s get started!

(Warning: half way through writing this I realized how much La La Land hate is in this. Sorry I’m not sorry.)

Best Original Song

best-original-song

The Nominees:

Audition (The Fools Who Dream)-La La Land

Can’t Stop the Feeling-Trolls

City of Stars-La Land

The Empty Chair-Jim: The James Foley Story

How Far I’ll Go-Moana

Actually Heard: All of them

I saw all but one of these films in theaters, and the internet helped me with the other one. This is the only category by the way that I will actually be able to say that I have an opinion on all of them.

Who Will: City of Stars

Yes, I like this song. In fact, it’s one of the better songs nominated this year. I might even use it for my audition for my province’s top university music program. I think it’s a pretty great song, and I wouldn’t be mad if it won, but…

Who Should: How Far I’ll Go

…the music in Moana was STELLAR. Lin-Manuel Miranda did an amazing job crafting the music for this movie and How Far I’ll Go is the best of them. What edges it out for me over City of Stars is that the performer singing How Far I’ll Go CAN ACTUALLY SING. I have so many issues with La La Land, and the biggest one for me is that they cast two people who can’t sing. As a singer myself, that kind of pisses me off. Seriously, there are big names in Hollywood that can act AND sing. Hire them! Auli’l Cravalho was the perfect fit for the role of Moana, and her singing elevates an already great song. Academy, give Lin-Manuel his EGOT. Please.

Who Would You Replace: Drive It Like You Stole It-Sing Street


It’s baffling that Can’t Stop the Feeling is nominated. I felt the same about Happy a few years ago, it’s barely associated with the film it’s from and it’s not much else that a fluffy summer song. The songs from Sing Street, however, not only fit perfectly into the film and it’s time period, but are ACTUALLY GOOD. I’m going to go with Drive It Like You Stole It though because it is not only the best written one of all the songs, but also it was actually submitted so that helps. So yeah, replace Can’t Stop the Feeling (or The Empty Chair…or Audition, which is really not a good song, just saying) with Drive It Like You Stole It.

Best Animated Feature

Best Animated Feature.jpg

The Nominees:

Kubo and the Two Strings

Moana

My Life as a Zucchini

The Red Turtle

Zootopia

Actually Seen: Moana, Zootopia

Who Will: Zootopia

It deserves it, big time. Can’t say anything other than that.

Who Should: Zootopia

To me, it’s a masterpiece. Everything about it is fantastic (other than that Try Everything song, which I’m glad was not nominated) and it deserves it’s win.

Who Would You Replace: N/A

Other than Anomalisa, which was nominated last year, I didn’t see any animated films that I would say deserve to be nominated. I mean, I guess Sausage Party would be a good enough choice, but considering I didn’t really like it, I can’t justify replacing anything with it.

Best Supporting Actress

best-supporting-actress

The Nominees:

Viola Davis-Fences

Naomie Harris-Moonlight

Nicole Kidman-Lion

Octavia Spencer-Hidden Figures

Michelle Williams-Manchester by the Sea

Actually Seen: Viola Davis, Naomie Harris, Michelle Williams

Who Will: Viola Davis

It’s almost a lock at this point. If Viola Davis doesn’t win, I think everyone will be shocked.

Who Should: Viola Davis

From the moment I saw the trailer, I knew Viola Davis would win. It is a great performance that deserves all the recognition in the world, and Viola Davis, after being robbed in 2012, deserves it.

Who Would You Replace: Jena Malone-The Neon Demon


As I said in my ranking of my 2016 watches, I didn’t really get the point of Michelle Williams’ character outside of her being a catalyst for the plot. Jena Malone, on the other hand, is the standout in her film, breathing life into The Neon Demon and successfully pulling off some of the most shocking moments in film this year. It may have been a long shot, but I would have loved to see her nominated.

Best Supporting Actor

best-supporting-actor

The Nominees

Mahershala Ali-Moonlight

Jeff Bridges-Hell or High Water

Lucas Hedges-Manchester by the Sea

Dev Patel-Lion

Michael Shannon-Nocturnal Animals

Actually Seen: Everyone except Dev Patel

Who Will: Mahershala Ali

I really thought Mahershala would have a bigger role in Moonlight, and while I did love his performance, I don’t think it was the best performance from a supporting actor this year. To me, that came from who I think should win.

Who Should: Michael Shannon

I have loved Michael Shannon for years, and if he won tonight, I would be ecstatic. He does such a great job in Nocturnal Animals, and as a long ignored character actor, he deserves a win tonight. It would be a great moment if he did.
Who Would You Replace: Daniel Radcliffe-Swiss Army Man

Not a lot of people can play a dead guy. Not a lot of people can play a magical dead guy. But Daniel Radcliffe did, and with his performance in this, I think he has shown that he is more than Harry Potter. I don’t know who I’d replace him with, but I do think he deserved a little recognition for it.

Best Actress

best-actress

The Nominees:

Isabelle Huppert-Elle

Ruth Negga-Loving

Natalie Portman-Jackie

Emma Stone-La La Land

Meryl Streep-Florence Foster Jenkins

Actually Seen: Ruth Negga, Emma Stone

Who Will: Emma Stone

The buzz is there. It’s Emma Stone’s to lose and if anything, it’s the only absolute lock tonight. However….

Who Should: Anyone Else

I’m sorry, but I can’t with this. Emma Stone played Emma Stone. It was nothing special and, especially compared to her performance in Birdman, she does not deserve an Oscar for this. Give it Isabelle Huppert. Give it to Natalie or Ruth. Hell, give it to Meryl Streep. Just please, reward someone for playing a character.

Who Would You Replace: Anya Taylor-Joy-The VVitch

If they wanted to nominated a young actress in a throwback film to a past genre, then they should have nominated Anya Taylor-Joy. She was the one thing in that movie that I adored, and after seeing Split, I can’t wait to see where she goes from here. This would have been a wonderful push for her career and I wish she would have been nominated in favour of Meryl Streep or (especially) Emma Stone.

Best Actor

best-actor

The Nominees:

Casey Affleck-Manchester by the Sea

Andrew Garfield-Hacksaw Ridge

Ryan Gosling-La La Land

Viggo Mortensen-Captain Fantastic

Denzel Washington-Fences

Actually Seen: Casey Affleck, Ryan Gosling, Denzel Washington

Who Will: Denzel Washington

Fences was an actors movie and Denzel did the most “acting” in it. Knowing that he performed this part before, it’s no surprise he does a great job and I wouldn’t be upset if he won, even though I do think someone else deserves it…

Who Should: Casey Affleck

I really want Casey to win. His performance touched me in a way that no other performance did this year, as he showcased one of the realest portrayals in grief I’ve seen. As much as I liked Denzel’s performance, I loved Casey’s and I hope my prediction is wrong tonight.

Who Would You Replace: Joel Edgerton-Loving

I believe that Joel Edgerton just missed out on a nomination, and I’m quite sad that he did. I have loved a lot of his performances, and this is probably my favourite. I even thought he was better than Ruth Negga. If he had replaced Ryan Gosling, I would not be mad.

Best Picture

best-picture

The Nominees:

Arrival

Fences

Hacksaw Ridge

Hell or High Water

Hidden Figures

La La Land

Lion

Manchester by the Sea

Moonlight

Actually Seen: Fences, Hell or High Water, La La Land, Manchester by the Sea, Moonlight

Who Will: La La Land

It’s this year’s Oscar darling. As much as I dislike it, I can’t say that it isn’t the favorite to win.

Who Should: Moonlight/Manchester by the Sea

It’s tough, since while I liked Manchester by the Sea more, I can’t help but agree that the craftsmanship in Moonlight should be honored. It may not be my favorite film of the year, but it is still a stellar film that deserves the recognition over La La Land

Who Would You Replace: Nocturnal Animals, Swiss Army Man, Zootopia

All 3 are great films, and if the Oscars had gone to 10, I feel like Nocturnal Animals would have snuck in there. I would have replaced La La Land and possibly Fences with Swiss Army Man and Zootopia, two films that I feel are far superior.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Well, I’m off to go be disappointed for the billionth time. Thanks for reading. Be prepared for a review of The Lego Batman Movie and Split from me sometime this week. Happy Oscar night everyone. I’m the Indie Princess, and I’ll see you next time!

Leave a Reply

